Houston Falls in Final Game

Jonathan Jennings, Reporter


The temperature was low, but hopes were high as the football team and the Mustang Mob traveled to Arlington in the second round of playoffs. It was back and forth the entire game, both teams played their hearts out. The final score was Arlington 34 Houston 32.

Arlington scored first, however Houston was quick to respond. For the first half Houston was trying to catch up to Arlington because of a blocked PAT; going into halftime the score was 21-20, and the Tigers had 236 total yards and the Mustangs had 259.

After the Tigers fumbled, Jared Schmidt threw a 40 yard touchdown pass to Chase Moss-Pioreck to take their first lead of the night. The score was now 32-28 with 10:05 left in the game. On Arlington’s next offensive drive they turned over the ball once again. Houston ran the clock down to 52.9 seconds before handing the ball back to Arlington. The Tigers miraculously drove the ball down the field and as time expired they threw an incompletion.

There was a controversial pass interference penalty on Houston, and that gave Arlington one last, untimed play. Their quarterback, Tate Kolwyck, dropped back and threw a pass into the end zone; the ball was tipped twice and then Jackson Boring on the Tigers caught the ball to score. Both the game and the Mustangs’ season ended shockingly. The team, coaches, and fans were all in disbelief.

Although the Mustangs did not advance to the next round of the playoffs there are many accomplishments the team and school should be proud of. First off, the team created an incredible bond. Senior offensive lineman, Benny Carroll described this season as “the most fun I’ve had playing football. I will never forget the brotherhood I made with those guys.” Also, this is the best regular season record (9-1) in the school’s history.

To add on to the list of accomplishments, Jared Schmidt, Colby Cartwright, Chase Moss-Pioreck, Benny Carroll, Mason Piper, Justin Jones, Zach Childress, and Kenny Sanders were all named to 15-AAA All District Team. Jared Schmidt was named offensive player of the year, too. Congratulations on a great season!